Váš nákupný košík je prázdny

01/12/2017 Knižný advent 2017: jedno knižné prekvapenie denne.

02/07/2017
Ponuku rozširujeme o úplne nové (nečítané) knihy.

20/02/2016 Eleven Books & Coffee konečne otvorené!




Záložky:  
Sleduj nás:




Defiant: The POWs Who Endured Vietnam's Most Infamous Prison, the Women Who Fought for Them, and the One Who Never Returned

Defiant: The POWs Who Endured Vietnam's Most Infamous Prison, the Women Who Fought for Them, and the One Who Never Returned
Autor: Townley, Alvin
Vydavateľ: Thomas Dunne Books
Rok: 2015
Obal: soft
Počet strán: 418
Stav: 4/5
Cena: € 6.90

During the Vietnam War, hundreds of American POWs faced years of brutal conditions and horrific torture at the hands of communist interrogators who ruthlessly plied them for military intelligence and propaganda. Determined to maintain their Code of Conduct, the prisoners developed a powerful underground resistance. To quash it, the North Vietnamese singled out its eleven leaders, Vietnam's own "dirty dozen," and banished them to an isolated jail that would become known as Alcatraz. None would leave its solitary cells and interrogation rooms unscathed; one would never return. As these men suffered in Hanoi, their wives launched an extraordinary campaign that would ultimately spark the POW/MIA movement. When the survivors finally returned, one would receive the Medal of Honour, another became a U.S. Senator, and a third still serves in Congress. A story of survival and triumph in the vein of Unbroken and Band of Brothers, Defiant will inspire anyone wondering how courage, faith, and brotherhood can endure even in the darkest of situations.


 
© 2011  11th Floor Books - A Bookstore with a View